close encounters

Seems I don’t have to go far to find something interesting outside; all I have to do is go out the front door. This morning, Callie found this little beauty exploring the edge of the woodpile.

The pollinators have a wide choice of wildflowers in our yard. This bumble bee favors red clover.

An Eastern box turtle turned up in the front yard and the pattern on its carapace looked very similar to the female Bill and I saw a couple of weeks earlier in our front field. If it was indeed the same one, she had traveled roughly the length of a football field.

Sometimes wildlife turns up just outside our door. It was time for dinner. We hadn’t fired up the grill in a while and we were planning to cook out. But when Bill opened up the grill…oh, my! Two mice had built a cozy nest inside (the nest was at the very front of the grill). I don’t know who was more surprised – Bill or the mice!

We gave them a reprieve and cooked our hamburgers on the stove that night, but the grandchildren will be coming for a visit soon and we’re looking forward to a cookout. So the next morning, we removed the nest. The two little meeces jumped from the grill to the porch floor and scampered away. They were very cute, but not cute enough to live in our grill all summer!

5 thoughts on “close encounters

    • Yes, he is beautiful. I just couldn’t believe he was still around in the time it took me to run in the house to get my camera. You know how quick skinks are!

  1. Great discoveries. I’m jealous of your skink and turtle. Reptiles are few and far between up here. We have garter snakes and painted turtles in abundance, but that’s about all I get to see most years. Interesting piece of trivia – box turtles (in fact many turtles) can’t breathe when they draw their heads into their shells. There’s not enough room for their lungs to inflate.

    Terrific pictures!

    • Sometimes we have too much wildlife – we’ve had to dispatch two rattlesnakes and a copperhead snake in the last two weeks! We also did away with their hiding places so hopefully the rest of them will stay in the woods. I’m afraid for my dogs, but luckily, they seem to have a healthy respect for snakes.

      • We’re lucky in that way here. None of our reptiles can actually kill you. I met a woman when I was in Tasmania whose job it was to trap and relocate problem snakes. They’re all deadly venomous over there. As much as I find them fascinating, it’s not a job I would’ve wanted to have 🙂

Comments are closed.