This coyote posed for pictures!

In the past week, I’ve seen a coyote hunting in our neighbor’s field three different times. The first two, it moved out of range before I could get my camera. But this morning, he or she was a little more obliging, leisurely nosing around in the tall grass, close enough for me to get a shot. I turned off the sausage, grabbed my camera, and hoped it wouldn’t get spooked and run. Sorry for the poor picture quality, but these are the best I could do with my “point-and-shoot” camera.

coyote in the field

coyote looking for mice

coyote

In more populated areas, coyotes avoid interaction with people by hunting at night. In our rural area, they are more brazen and hunt during the day, too. They are opportunistic feeders with a varied diet, which includes scavenging the large kills of other animals. In the Blue Ridge, they hunt rabbits, foxes, mice, beavers, all kinds of fruits and berries, and I suspect even the salamanders in our neighbor’s pond.

It’s possible with all the recent sightings that there’s a den nearby. If that’s true and there are pups to feed, this coyote will be out hunting again. With any luck, I can sneak up on it and get a closer shot. Maybe a better option would be to attach my BirdCam to a tree and see what activity it captures. Stay tuned!

35 thoughts on “This coyote posed for pictures!

  1. Congrats, Jo Ann! Great pictures. They are truly fascinating animals. Good luck with the BirdCam. I would be careful approaching them. They can actually be more unpredictable than wolves. I have had a few close encounters over the years that have made me nervous. The most notable was finding myself surrounded by a pack that was likely trying to ward me off a kill. I got the message fairly quickly and left the scene. Just be aware of your surroundings.

    • I agree. I’ve also seen them by the pond and wondered if they eat salamanders which are plentiful in the pond. I’ve read they eat frogs, so why not salamanders?

  2. The coyotes do come into our urban area and I see them early in the morning when they are finding their way back home. They are interesting creatures, and there appearance leads you to believe they are quite docile. Like all wild animals they should not be feared, but they should be respected. If you appear to pose a threat they will react to that.

    • Like all wild animals, they are unpredictable because we don’t always know what’s going on other than what we can see, so we should always respect any of the large predators.

  3. Brilliant photos, I’m so excited to see them as we don’t get anything near that big and wild in the UK and also reading Barbara Kingsolver’s ‘Prodigal Summer’ at the moment, which has a lot about coyotes!

    • We knew when we bought the farm in the hinterlands that we would have large predators. I worry about our dogs and the chickens, but I don’t feel personally threatened, mostly because there’s plenty of food for them in the surrounding woods and fields.

    • I think the main reason we see them is because our neighbor, who owns 300 acres of woods and fields, does not live at the cabin, so there’s little human activity. People around here hunt in the fall, but during the winter and spring, the coyotes are pretty much left alone unless they go after someone’s livestock and I haven’t heard of anything like that.

  4. Hi, Jo Ann:
    How close were you to the coyote? (hope not too close!) Great pictures, though – LOVE seeing the snow in the background! Margie

    • He was about 100 yards away. Too far away to pose a threat and too far away to get a closeup. I’m going to look for a used telescopic lens. They are expensive! I saw him again today. With the snow mostly melted, he blends in perfectly with the tall grass.

    • Thanks, Robin. One of the reasons I love spring is that, as the time of renewal, everything comes alive and I start seeing the animals again that have “laid low” all winter.

  5. Great pictures, Jo Ann! Coyotes are increasingly making their presence known in urban centers, which makes me wonder if they aren’t generally becoming bolder and decreasing the space between them and us in general. Whatever it is, thanks for sharing these photos!

    • I think they are extremely adaptable and have learned to live amongst humans. In more urban areas, they hunt at night to avoid people. Here in the country they are bolder and hunt during the day. They are increasing in numbers almost everywhere.

Comments are closed.